Search: (Extended)
Header

Computer Science in Applications (B.Sc./M.Sc.)

Since 2009 the Department of Computer Science has offered a computer science degree which lays emphasis on possible areas of application for computer science.

The aim of the bachelor course is to teach specific skills for the application of computer science in selected application areas. In addition to basic skills in the design of information processing systems, sound knowledge in one area of application of computer science plays a central role.

The degree "Computer Science in Applications" accentuates the engineering constructive character of computer science which is essential for the creation of software systems. Students are taught specific skills from the area of application which are necessary for the creation and application of software systems from the area. The mathematical and natural scientific foundations are also geared to the area of application.

Essentially the degree differs from the classical "Computer Science" degree in two ways:

  • Students choose an area of application which is the focus of their degree at an early stage. In this area of application (which makes up about 30% of the degree) students are taught further specific computer science skills and above all skills from another engineering subject. The computer science course itself isn't as diverse as in the "Computer Science" degree.
  • The degree "Computer Science in Applications" focuses more on computer science as an engineering discipline. This is reflected in the fact that the constructive elements of the "Computer Science" degree are included in the course and mathematics is replaced by engineering mathematics (called "advanced mathematics" in Kaiserslautern).

In any case "Computer Science in Applications" is also a scientific university degree and shouldn't be equated with the practical oriented degree course "Applied Computer Science" offered at universities of applied science.

In the consecutive master course students are introduced to an area of computer science (called "computer science specialisation") and its implementation in the area of application to research level. Students will qualify to develop computer science systems in this area and will be in a position to follow the level of research and to help develop it further to a certain extent. The requirement for this master course is a B.A. which corresponds to our bachelor degree by about 80%.

Areas of application

The TU Kaiserslautern currently offers the following computer science degree courses in various areas of application:

together with
the FB-EIT
The degree Ambient Systems deals with the technologies and applications of ambient systems, a new generation of networked embedded systems with intelligent sensor technology and actuating elements which largely function autonomously and without an operator. Ambient systems form the basis for many sophisticated IT system visions and solutions which effectively enhance people's competence and skills in the workplace and in daily life. [more ...]
together with
the FB-EIT
The degree Communication Systems focuses on the design of networked and distributed systems from a computer science point of view. The technical foundations (primarily in electrical engineering and information technology) are also a focal point. [more ...]
together with
the FB-MVT
Electronics and software in vehicle technology have become increasingly important. At the same time job entrants are faced with high demands due to the complex development processes in the automotive industry. [more ...]
together with
the FB-MAT in Ba
and the FB-BIO in Ma
The success of modern research in many areas of biology, pharmacy and medicine is becoming more and more dependent on the support of suitable computer programmes. Modern lab techniques generate sequence data on a large scale - examples of this are the sequencing of DNA or RNA molecules or the amino acid sequences of proteins - the connection and meaning of which only become clear to scientists with the help of computer-assisted processing. [more ...]
together with
the FB-EIT
Embedded systems are computer systems which mostly interact directly with other systems without the influence of human users. [more ...]
together with
the FB-WIWI
The amount of information and knowledge in the economic sector has been growing continually for years. Due to the continuing increase in networking this will not change in the foreseeable future. As a result companies are faced with increasingly greater challenges in the area of information management with regard to adequate information infrastructure. [more ...]

Organisation of exams

The above course offers are combined in one title "Applied Computer Science". This keeps administrative costs down and allows flexibility to introduce new areas of application in reaction to the growing demands in industry for computer scientists in new applications. This means all courses have the same exam regulations and rules and regulations. The only difference is the course content, although the core computer science part of the course is the same for all subjects.

The study plan "Applied Computer Science" contains a description of the common parts of all courses and a list of all application-specific course offers. This is the legally binding document. The relevant extract from the study plan for each course can be found on the corresponding course website.

The bachelor degree "Applied Computer Science" includes the applications

  • Information Management
  • Information Technology
  • Mathematical Modelling
  • Production Engineering and Vehicle Technology
These can be continued in one or more master courses as shown in the below table.
Applications in bachelor degree Continuation possibilities in master degree
Information Management Information Management
Information Technology Ambient systems
Embedded systems
Communication systems
Mathematical mMdelling Computer Science in Life Sciences
Mathematical Modelling / Numerical Modelling
Mathematical Modelling / Optimisation
Production Engineering and Vehicle Technology Production and Construction
Vehicle Technology

The most important applications are listed on our websites as independent degree courses (see above). It's possible to change to a different application after the bachelor degree as long as it complies with the allocation described in the above table.

The degree courses are accredited by ASIIN.

Course begin is possible in both summer and winter semesters.

Due to the international orientation of the subject computer science some courses towards the end of the bachelor are offered in English.


If you have any further questions regarding the bachelor or master degree courses please write to bm-info@informatik.uni-kl.de or contact the head of department Dr. habil. Bernd Schürmann (Tel. 0631/205-2507).



The department of computer science currently offers the following courses of studies (among others) several Bachelor's/Master's courses of studies: [more ...]
Email to the person in charge of this page (schuerma@informatik.uni-kl.de) [more ...]

Informatik in Anwendungen (B.Sc./M.Sc.)

Der Fachbereich Informatik bietet seit 2009 ein Informatikstudium an, das verstärkten Wert auf mögliche Anwendungsgebiete der Informatik legt.

Ziel des Bachelorstudiums ist die Vermittlung besonderer Kompetenzen zur Anwendung der Informatik in einem selbst gewählten Anwendungsbereich. Dabei spielen neben grundlegenden Kenntnissen im Entwurf informationsverarbeitender Systeme insbesondere fundierte Kenntnisse in einem Anwendungsbereich der Informatik eine zentrale Rolle.

Das Studium der Informatik in Anwendungen betont den ingenieursmäßigen, konstruktiven Charakter der Informatik, der zur Erstellung von Softwaresystemen notwendig ist. Aus dem Anwendungsgebiet werden nur spezifische Kenntnisse vermittelt, die zur Erstellung und Anwendung von Softwaresystemen aus dem Gebiet erforderlich sind. Die mathematisch naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen orientieren sich ebenfalls am Anwendungsgebiet.

Das Studium unterscheidet sich vom klassischen Studiengang "Informatik" im Wesentlichen in zwei Punkten:

  • Die Studierenden entscheiden sich bereits frühzeitig für einen Anwendungsbereich, in dem sie ein umfassenderes Studium absolvieren. In diesem Anwendungsbereich, der etwa 30% des Studiums umfasst, werden spezifische weitere Kenntnisse in der Informatik, vor allem aber aus einem anderen Ingenieurfach vermittelt. Das Informatikstudium selbst ist nicht so breit ausgelegt wie im Studiengang "Informatik".
  • Das Studium "Informatik in Anwendungen" hat einen stärkeren Fokus auf die Informatik als Ingenieurdisziplin. Dies spiegelt sich dadurch wider, dass die konstruktiven Elemente des Studiengangs "Informatik" übernommen wurden und die Mathematik durch die Ingenieurmathematik (in Kaiserslautern "Höhere Mathematik" genannt) ersetzt wurde.

In jedem Fall ist auch die Informatik in Anwendungen ein wissenschaftliches Universitätsstudium und darf nicht mit der praxiszentrierten Ausbildung im Studiengang "Angewandte Informatik" an Fachhochschulen gleichgesetzt werden.

Das konsekutive Masterstudium führt die Studierenden in einem Bereich der Informatik ("Informatik-Vertiefung" genannt) und dessen Umsetzung im Anwendungsbereich an den Stand der Forschung heran. Neben der Befähigung der Studierenden, in diesem Bereich Informatiksysteme entwickeln zu können, werden sie in die Lage versetzt, dem Stand der Forschung zu folgen und ihn in begrenztem Maße weiter entwickeln zu können. Das Masterstudium setzt einen Ba-Abschluss voraus, der zu 80 Prozent mit unserem Bachelorstudium übereinstimmt.

Anwendungsbereiche

Die TU Kaiserslautern bietet zurzeit folgende Informatikstudienangebote in unterschiedlichen Anwendungsbereichen an:

gemeinsam mit
dem FB-EIT
Der Studiengang Ambiente System befasst sich mit Technologien und Anwendungen ambienter Systeme, einer neuen Generation vernetzter eingebetteter Systeme, die über intelligente Sensorik und Aktorik verfügen und weitgehend autonom und bedienungsfrei arbeiten. Ambiente Systeme bilden die Grundlage vieler anspruchsvoller IT-Systemvisionen und -lösungen, durch die die Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten des Menschen in Beruf und Alltag wirkungsvoll verstärkt werden. [mehr ...]
gemeinsam mit
dem FB-EIT
Unter eingebetteten Systemen versteht man Rechnersysteme, welche meist ohne Einflussmöglichkeit menschlicher Nutzer direkt mit anderen Systemen interagieren. [mehr ...]
gemeinsam mit
dem FB-MAT im Ba
und dem FB-BIO im Ma
Der Erfolg moderner Forschung in vielen Bereichen der Biologie, Pharmazie und Medizin hängt immer stärker von der Unterstützung durch geeignete Computerprogramme ab. So erzeugen morderne Labortechniken Sequenzdaten in großem Umfang deren Zusammenhang und Bedeutung sich dem Wissenschaftler nur mit Hilfe der computergestützten Verarbeitung erschließt. [mehr ...]
gemeinsam mit
dem FB-MVT
Die Bedeutung von Elektronik und Software ist in der Fahrzeugtechnik stark gestiegen, gleichzeitig stellen die komplexen Entwicklungsprozesse in der Automobilindustrie hohe Anforderungen an Berufseinsteiger. [mehr ...]
gemeinsam mit
dem FB-WIWI
Die Mengen an Informationen und Wissen nehmen in der Wirtschaftswelt seit Jahren kontinuierlich zu, und dies wird sich aufgrund der weiter zunehmenden Vernetzung auch auf absehbare Zeit nicht ändern. Dies stellt Unternehmen im Bereich Informationsmanagement vor immer größere Herausforderungen im Hinblick auf eine adäquate Informationsinfrastruktur. [mehr ...]
gemeinsam mit
dem FB-EIT
Der Studiengang Kommunikationssysteme befasst sich fokussiert mit dem Entwurf von vernetzten und verteilten Systemen aus der Sicht der Informatik, wobei jedoch den technischen Grundlagen, welche vorwiegend in der Elektro- und Informationstechnik zu finden sind, ein großes Augenmerk gewidmet wird. [mehr ...]

Prüfungstechnische Organisation der Studiums

Um den Verwaltungsaufwand des Informatikstudiums in Anwendungen gering zu halten und flexibel neue Anwendungsgebiete einzuführen zu können, damit wir auf den wachsenden Bedarf in der Industrie an Informatikerinnen und Informatikern in neuen Anwendungen reagieren können, sind o.g. Studienangebote formal in einem Studiengang "Angewandte Informatik" zusammengefasst. Sie besitzen damit alle dieselbe Prüfungsordnung und dasselbe Regelwerk. Sie unterscheiden sich nur im Lehrangebot, wobei der Kern der Informatikausbildung für alle Ausrichtungen gleich ist.

Der Studienplan "Angewandte Informatik" beschreibt zunächst die gemeinsamen Teile aller Ausrichtungen und enthält dann eine Auflistung aller anwendungsspezifischen Studienangebote. Dies ist das rechtlich bindende Dokument. Auf den Web-Seiten o.g. Studienangebote findet sich jeweils der für diese Ausrichtung relevante Auszug aus dem Studienplan.

Der Bachelorstudiengang "Angewandte Informatik" umfasst die Anwendungen

  • Information Management
  • Informationstechnik
  • Mathematische Modellierung
  • Produktions- und Fahrzeugtechnik
Diese können in jeweils einem oder mehreren Masterstudiengängen fortgeführt werden, wie folgende Tabelle zeigt.
Anwendungen des Bachelorstudiengangs Fortsetzungsmöglichkeiten im Masterstudiengang
Information Management Information Management
Informationstechnik Ambiente Systeme
Eingebettete Systeme
Kommunikationssysteme
Mathematische Modellierung Informatik in den Lebenswissenschaften
Mathematische Modellierung/Numerische Modellierung
Mathematische Modellierung/Optimierung
Produktions- und Fahrzeugtechnik Produktion und Konstruktion
Fahrzeugtechnik

Die wichtigsten dieser Anwendungen sind auf unseren Web-Seiten als eigenständige Studienmöglichkeiten aufgelistet (s.o.). Ein Wechsel der Anwendung nach dem Bachelorstudium ist problemlos möglich, falls die in der Tabelle beschriebene Zuordnung eingehalten wird.

Der Studienbeginn ist jeweils zum Sommer- und Wintersemester möglich.

Einzelne Lehrveranstaltungen gegen Ende des Bachelorstudiums werden in Englisch angeboten, um der internationalen Ausrichtung des Fachs Informatik gerecht zu werden.


Sollten Sie noch weitere Fragen zu den Bachelor-Master-Studiengängen haben, so schreiben Sie bitte an bm-info@informatik.uni-kl.de oder wenden Sie sich an den Geschäftsführer des Fachbereichs, Dr. habil. Bernd Schürmann (Tel. 0631/205-2507).