Search: (Extended)
Header

European Master in Software Engineering (EMSE)

The European Master in Software Engineering program, complements the Master's programs of the department of computer science, and allows students to spend part of his/her master's degree program at a European university.

The European Master in Software Engineering (EMSE) is an international master's program in cooperation with the departments of computer science of

As part of the EMSE program, the students of TU Kaiserslautern have the possibility to spend two semester of the master's at one of these partner universities.

Further information about the European Masters in Software Engineering can be found in the main website of EMSE, "http://emse.inf.unibz.it/"

The Course

The discipline of software engineering tries to bridge the gap between industry requirements and the findings of the research. The European Master in Software Engineering supports this approach by offering a wide range of courses based on both theoretical and applied research results of the partner universities. The program consists of basic courses (Advanced Statistics, Requirements Engineering, Verification and Validation, Software Quality and Management) and elective courses (for example, Distributed Systems, Information Management, Computer Networks, Cluster Technologies, usability).

The courses are project-oriented, which are offered through a wide range of industry internships and university projects for the students. The lectures are held in English. To improve the knowledge of the language of the visiting students, free language courses are offered at universities.

By the European Master in Software Engineering, students are introduced to the discipline of software engineering through both theoretical and practical experience. Furthermore, prospective students are given the possibility for a doctorate. They thereby get benefited by the excellent links of the EMSE program to international research institutions. Among them, in addition to numerous international universities are:

  • The International SE Research Network (ISERN)
  • The Italian Association of Informatics (AICA)
  • COSPA - Consortium for Open Source in the Public Administration
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering in Kaiserslautern

Study Modules in Kaiserslautern

Funding Opportunities

The tuition fees of the program are: 3.800 EUR per academic year for 3rd country students and 2.250 EUR for EU students. This applies to EU nationals and third country students participating in the European Masters courses.

Further information can be found at: http://emse.inf.unibz.it/

FAQ

Answers to freqently asked questions can be found in our FAQ for EMSE students.

Contact

Further questions about the EMSE program in Kaiserslautern answered the local coordinator Christian Wolschke.



The department of computer science currently offers the following courses of studies (among others) several Bachelor's/Master's courses of studies: [more ...]
Email to the person in charge of this page (schuerma@informatik.uni-kl.de) [more ...]

European Masters Programme in Software Engineering (EMSE)

Logo Erasmus Funded.jpg

Das European Masters Programme in Software Engineering   ergänzt die Masterstudiengänge des Fachbereichs Informatik, und ermöglicht es Studentinnen und Studenten, einen Teil ihres Masterstudienganges an einer europäischen Universität zu absolvieren.

Der European Master in Software Engineering ist ein internationaler Masterstudiengang  in Zusammenarbeit der Fachbereiche Informatik der

Im Rahmen des EMSE Programms haben Studierende der TU Kaiserslautern die Möglichkeit, zwei Master-Semester an einer dieser Partneruniversitäten zu verbringen.

EMSE ist ein Erasmus Mundus Programm, finanziert durch das Erasmus+ Programm der Europäischen Union

Weitere Informationen zum European Master in Software Engineering können auf der Hauptseite "http://em-se.eu/" abgerufen werden.

EMSE Kursliste

EMSE Studierende welche ihr erstes oder zweites Jahr an der TU Kaiserslautern eingeschrieben sind sollten sich bei der am allgemeinen EMSE Studienplan orientieren.

Der Studiengang

Die Disziplin des Software-Engineerings versucht die Lücke zwischen den Anforderungen der Industrie und den Erkenntnissen der Forschung zu schließen. Der European Master in Software Engineering unterstützt diesen Ansatz, indem er ein breites Angebot an Lehrveranstaltungen zur Verfügung stellt, die sowohl auf theoretischen als auch auf angewandten Forschungsergebnissen der Partneruniversitäten basieren. Das Programm setzt sich aus Grundlagenveranstaltungen (Advanced Statistics, Requirements Engineering, Verification and Validation, Software Quality and Management) und Wahlfächern (beispielsweise Distributed Systems, Information Management, Computer Networks, Cluster Technologies, Usability), in denen diese Grundlagen Anwendung finden, zusammen. Durch diese Aufteilung werden die Studierenden schrittweise in die Disziplin des Software-Engineerings eingeführt.

Die Veranstaltungen sind projektorientiert, was durch ein großes Angebot an Industriepraktika und Universitätsprojekten für die Studierenden erreicht wird. Die Veranstaltungen werden in Englisch gehalten. Um die Kenntnisse der Landessprache der Gaststudenten zu verbessern, werden kostenfreie Sprachkurse an den Universitäten angeboten.

Durch den European  Master in Software Engineering werden die Studentinnen und Studenten sowohl durch theoretische als auch durch praktische Erfahrungen in die Disziplin des Software-Engineerings eingeführt. Weiterhin soll interessierten Studentinnen und Studenten die Möglichkeit auf eine Promotion eingeräumt werden. Diese können dabei von den hervorragenden Verbindungen des EMSE-Programms zu  internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen profitieren. Darunter befinden sich neben zahlreichen internationalen Universitäten

  • The International SE Research Network (ISERN)
  • The Italian Association of Informatics (AICA)
  • COSPA - Consortium for Open Source in the Public Administration
  • Fraunhofer Institut für experimentelles Software Engineering in Kaiserslautern

Förderungsmöglichkeiten

Es gibt für diesen Studiengang Studiengebühren, als auch die Möglichkeit sich für spezielle Stipendien zu bewerben.

Bewerbung und weitere Information

Die Bewerbung kann über die Online-Plattform auf http://em-se.eu/ erfolgen. Bei Fragen zum Programm können Sie sich an das EMSE Sekretariat (emse-secretariat@unibz.it) wenden.

Das Bewerbungportal ist offen bis zum 10. Juli 2017.